Cardozo Society Awards

The Sidney Barrows Lifetime Commitment Award

**The 2021 nomination application is now closed.

We invite you to nominate a leading judge or attorney to receive the 2021 Sidney Barrows Lifetime Commitment Award, the highest honor conferred by the Twin Cities Cardozo Society. Please consider an experienced attorney or judge in the Twin Cities who exemplifies excellence in legal practice, a long record of service to the Jewish and general communities, and a demonstrated commitment to life-long learning.

If you have any questions or comments, please contact Tslil Shtulsaft: or 952.417.2311.

Note: When reflecting on the nominee’s service to both the Jewish and general communities, please list the person’s record of service in as much detail as you can and give consideration to the following:

  • Community leadership
  • Demonstration of sustained commitment to meeting general and Jewish community needs
  • Development and fostering of the virtues and skills of civic and Jewish engagement and social responsibility

If you have any questions or comments, please contact Tslil Shtulsaft:

Past Recipients

2019 – Scott Lifson and Randi Ilyse Roth
2018 – Robin Landy and Lawrence Shapiro
2017 – Karen Schanfield and Robert Aronson
2016 – Charlie Nauen and Howard Tarkow
2015 – Hon. Mickey Greenberg and Alan Silver
2014 – Phyllis Karasov and Bill Pentelovitch
2013 – Cliff Greene and Ellen Sampson
2012 – Steve A. Brand and Philip S. Garon
2011 – Jerome Ingber and Steve Rubin
2010 – Ron Zamansky
2009 – Howard Stacker
2008 – Melvin Orenstein
2007 – Hon. Rosanne Nathanson and Hon. Allen Oleisky
2006 – Elliot Kaplan and Peter Wolf
2005 – Thomas Feinberg
2004 – Samuel L. Kaplan
2003 – Hon. Roberta Levy
2002 – Morris Sherman
2001 – Marvin Pertzik and Allen Saeks
2000 – Marvin Borman, z”l

The Arthur T. Pfefer Memorial Award

Every year, the Cardozo Society presents the Arthur T. Pfefer Memorial Award to a Jewish law student or young lawyer who has demonstrated outstanding leadership potential and commitment to serving the community. This award honors the memory of Arthur Pfefer, z”l, an aspiring St. Paul lawyer who was killed while serving our country in the Vietnam War.

Recipients are Jewish lawyers and law students age 35 or under who have already demonstrated accomplishment and show great scholarly, professional, and philanthropic potential.

Past Recipients

2019 – Benjamin Gerber
2018 – David Krco
2017 – Melissa Weiner
2016 – Greg Arenson
2015 – Valeria Sinelnikov Chazin
2014 – Ron Garber
2013 – Leora Miriam Maccabee
2012 – Robert Goldaris
2011 – Royee Vlodaver
2010 – Jennifer Benowitz
2009 – Jenny Gassman-Pines
2008 – Dori Streit
2007 – Marty Chester
2006 – Mia Sussman