Twin Cities Cardozo Society

What is the Twin Cities Cardozo Society?

The Jewish legal community coming together to advance the philanthropic mission of the St. Paul and Minneapolis Jewish Federations, in order to ensure the security and vitality of the Jewish people.

The Twin Cities Cardozo Society is a place for Jewish attorneys, judges, and law students to network and serve the community. We strengthen bonds among legal professionals through educational, social and philanthropic activities, and offer opportunities for communal involvement and leadership.


If you are a practicing or retired attorney, judge or law student who is Jewish, become a part of the Cardozo Society by simply making a gift to the Minneapolis Jewish Federation or the Jewish Federation of Greater St. Paul.

Find out more about the Twin Cities Cardozo Society

Please contact:
Dan Mogelson |

Tslil Shtulsaft |

Sign up for more information! Click here for the Minneapolis newsletter, or here for St. Paul’s, and be sure to select “Cardozo” in your preferred subscriptions.

Steering Committee Chairs
Robin Landy, Charlie Nauen

Campaign Chairs
Alan Milavetz, Drew Zamansky

Program Chairs
Alexandra Michelson Connell, Ben Gerber

Public Service Chairs
Susan Minsberg, Shira Shapiro

21st Annual Dinner Chairs
Melissa Weiner, Karen Schanfield, Barry Landy

Arthur T. Pfefer Award Selection Committee Chair
Jenny Gassman-Pines

Sidney Barrows Lifetime Commitment Award Selection Committee Chair
Robert Barrows

2020-2021 Steering Committee

Robin Landy, Chair
Charlie Nauen, Chair

Leigh Abrams-Waterman
Greg Arenson
Dan Berlinger
Justin Boschwitz
Marty Chester
Alexandra Michelson Connell
Ben Gerber
Jenny Gassman-Pines
Marlene Goldenberg
Stuart Goldenberg
Hon. Myron Greenberg
Josh Hasko
Steve Hunegs
Jesse Kibort
Alexandra Klass
David Krco
Barry Landy
Hon. Jonathan Lebedoff
Rick Linsk
Michael Lorberbaum
Andy Luger
Betty Meerovich
Alan Milavetz
David Milavetz
Susan Minsberg
Jill Oleisky
Ethan Roberts
Steve Rubin
Marsha Schoenkin
Shira Shapiro
Hon. David Stras
Howard Tarkow
Alex Tselos
Melissa Weiner
Ed Winer
Drew Zamansky

Cordozo Society Steering Committee Emeritus Members
Steve Brand
Jerry Ingber
Phyllis Karasov
Scott Lifson
Hon. Rosanne Nathanson
Les Novak
Andrew Parker
Jon Parritz
Tom Sanders
Ron Zamansky


20th Annual Cardozo Dinner Honoree – Scott Lifson

20th Annual Cardozo Dinner Honoree – Randi Ilyse Roth

Twin Cities Cardozo Society Dinner - Rise Up Again

20th Annual Cardozo Society Dinner Live Stream

Cardozo Society Awards

The Sidney Barrows Lifetime Commitment Award

**The 2021 nomination application is now closed.

We invite you to nominate a leading judge or attorney to receive the 2021 Sidney Barrows Lifetime Commitment Award, the highest honor conferred by the Twin Cities Cardozo Society. Please consider an experienced attorney or judge in the Twin Cities who exemplifies excellence in legal practice, a long record of service to the Jewish and general communities, and a demonstrated commitment to life-long learning.

If you have any questions or comments, please contact Tslil Shtulsaft: or 952.417.2311.

Note: When reflecting on the nominee’s service to both the Jewish and general communities, please list the person’s record of service in as much detail as you can and give consideration to the following:

  • Community leadership
  • Demonstration of sustained commitment to meeting general and Jewish community needs
  • Development and fostering of the virtues and skills of civic and Jewish engagement and social responsibility

If you have any questions or comments, please contact Tslil Shtulsaft:

Past Recipients

2019 – Scott Lifson and Randi Ilyse Roth
2018 – Robin Landy and Lawrence Shapiro
2017 – Karen Schanfield and Robert Aronson
2016 – Charlie Nauen and Howard Tarkow
2015 – Hon. Mickey Greenberg and Alan Silver
2014 – Phyllis Karasov and Bill Pentelovitch
2013 – Cliff Greene and Ellen Sampson
2012 – Steve A. Brand and Philip S. Garon
2011 – Jerome Ingber and Steve Rubin
2010 – Ron Zamansky
2009 – Howard Stacker
2008 – Melvin Orenstein
2007 – Hon. Rosanne Nathanson and Hon. Allen Oleisky
2006 – Elliot Kaplan and Peter Wolf
2005 – Thomas Feinberg
2004 – Samuel L. Kaplan
2003 – Hon. Roberta Levy
2002 – Morris Sherman
2001 – Marvin Pertzik and Allen Saeks
2000 – Marvin Borman, z”l

The Arthur T. Pfefer Memorial Award

Every year, the Cardozo Society presents the Arthur T. Pfefer Memorial Award to a Jewish law student or young lawyer who has demonstrated outstanding leadership potential and commitment to serving the community. This award honors the memory of Arthur Pfefer, z”l, an aspiring St. Paul lawyer who was killed while serving our country in the Vietnam War.

Recipients are Jewish lawyers and law students age 35 or under who have already demonstrated accomplishment and show great scholarly, professional, and philanthropic potential.

Past Recipients

2019 – Benjamin Gerber
2018 – David Krco
2017 – Melissa Weiner
2016 – Greg Arenson
2015 – Valeria Sinelnikov Chazin
2014 – Ron Garber
2013 – Leora Miriam Maccabee
2012 – Robert Goldaris
2011 – Royee Vlodaver
2010 – Jennifer Benowitz
2009 – Jenny Gassman-Pines
2008 – Dori Streit
2007 – Marty Chester
2006 – Mia Sussman

Pro Bono Opportunities

Seeking volunteers for the Cardozo Society legal aid clinic among attorneys who live and/or work in St. Paul! We have formed a wonderful partnership with both Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Aid Services (SMRLS) and Interfaith Action. The Cardozo Society will now be able to provide pro bono legal advice to the St. Paul community from 1:00-4:00 p.m. on Thursday afternoons at the Morning Star Baptist Church located at 739 Selby Avenue in St. Paul.

For more information about the St. Paul Legal Aid Clinic, please contact Susan Minsberg at